Mac OS X Lion & HP Plotter/ Printer Drivers

Further to the previous post titled Mac OS X Lion and ArchiCAD compatibility I received a request from a client who had taken the plunge and upgraded all their Macs in the office to Mac OS X 10.7. and were now unable to plot. My initial thought process to the question was “where does the problem lie?”, is it with  ArchiCAD, is it with Mac OS X 10.7 or is it with the HP Plotter. Then thinking it through I knew that from past experience new Operating Systems require new drivers. It does not matter if it is Mac or Windows 7, drivers are an issue, especially when considering 64-bit. Therefore I started my search by going to hp.com > Support & Drivers > selected Drivers & Software tab. Then when prompted ” Enter a product name/number” I typed Designjet 500 plus. The search returned “4 matches found. Please select one below”. I selected the second one in the list after establishing from client that they had the A0 version.

I was then presented with “Select operating system”. At this stage I held my breath and thumbs, hoping that I did not get message “not supported”. But I could once again breathe as I could immediately see that there was support and a driver. I then clicked on the “Obtain software” button which opened a PDF titled ” HP Designjet printers – Updating HP Software to Support OS X 10.7 Lion”. According to the Introduction – With the release of OS X 10.7 Lion, HP is providing updated print drivers and software. These updates will be available through Apple Software Updates in Mac OS X.

I then instructed the client that all he needed to do was to go to System Preferences > Print & Fax and to click on the “+” button to initiate a search for printers connected via his network. According to the client a HP designjet 500 was detected and when he clicked on “Add” the OS started to download the driver via Apple Software Updates.

Of course the client could also have read the instructions “Getting HP software updates immediately”.

 

 

One thought on “Mac OS X Lion & HP Plotter/ Printer Drivers

  1. Pingback: Computers Technology Gadgets & Web » 9 Titled Mac Sites » Computers Technology Gadgets & Web

Leave a Reply

